What exactly is the hurricane season?

Hurricane season begins June 1 and ends Nov. 30.

Projections by NOAA vary but generally range from 11 to 17 named storms with four to eight hurricanes.

The average hurricane season produces 12 named storms, including six hurricanes (three of which are major), with three reaching major hurricane status.

According to NOAA forecasts, the following criteria will be used to predict if a year will be hurricane-prone or not:

Hurricane strength intensity (Category 3, 4 or 5 on the Saffir-Simpson scale) or higher,

Maximum sustained winds of at least 111 mph (39 mb) for at least 24 hours,

Minimum central pressure falling below 918 mb for at least 24 hours.

The below conditions have existed in the past three years:

The Atlantic hurricane season runs from June 1 to Nov. 30 and typically produces 12 to 17 named storms, including six to eight hurricanes (three of which are major), with three to four making landfall in the U.S.

Leave a Comment